The Marrying Type or Just Plain Creepy?

Disclosure: When I created this blog, I wanted to pull stories from the present and some from my past, a few weeks ago I had a date that reminded me of someone that I went out with years ago, the marrying type. This is post is about the first time I came across someone like this.

My friend Andi had called me and wanted to set me up on a double date with herself, her boyfriend and his best friend. The friend had seen a picture of me and wanted to be introduced, I agreed since I was single but only under one condition, they come over to where I live and we hang out so I can feel comfortable. I was only 19 at the time and stilled lived with my parents and luckily they were out of town. The doorbell rings, I answer to only see my friend and two guys…one was super cute the other…not so much.

SO…on looks…my date had the coke bottle glasses, was super skinny and was just a little shorter than myself but I thought well maybe his personality will be awesome…not so much. When Andi introduced us, the first thing out of his mouth…Creepy statement #1: “you’re cute, we would look great together in pictures and make a good couple. ” There was also a hug as he walked through the door, it was an uncomfortably long hug.

I thanked him and invited everyone in…Creepy statement #2: “So I wasn’t sure what you drank, I brought white zinfandel, bud lite, and some other beer so we can get a little comfy.” Now remember, I was 19 at the time…seriously why didn’t he just rufie me and call it a night. Another awkward thank you came out of my mouth and I put his plethora of alcohol in the fridge.

My friend Andi and her beau were quite the affectionate ones so the awkwardness just rose to about a level 8. She then suggested that we get into my parent’s jacuzzi, I asked if I could talk to her in the other room and gave her the look of death because I was not about to get into any small place with this dude. She begged and said they haven’t been unsupervised in a long time and of course being the nice person, I obliged. She borrowed a suit and I also put on one of my suits and before I could walk out into my living room I could hear the water running…I looked over at her and asked WTF? She said she told the guys to go ahead and warm up the water. Yep, this was happening, so I walked over to the fridge got a beer, cracked it open and guzzled it.

When I got to the Jacuzzi room, everyone was already in the water so I took off my cover up and got in the water. Creepy Statement #3: “Wow after seeing you in your picture, in person, and now in a bathing suit, I think we would be a great couple. I think we should just call our parents and tell them we’re getting married!” Really…we’re 19! So at this point, I was like, “you know what, I need to make a call.” So I called my friend’s work and begged him to come over. I explained the situation and said act like my boyfriend, please! He said, “you owe me but okay, I get off at 11.” In my mind, 11pm was weeks away and it was only like 8pm! I came back and apologized and said that I needed  to call my boyfriend and just tell him I was hanging out with Andi and friends.

Creepy Statement #4: “what, you have a boyfriend but I thought we were dating?” I just looked over and said, “NO, I just met you!” I got out of the water and went to the fridge to get another beer, this was getting unbearable! Then the next thing I know Andi and her beau run past holding hands and go back into my hallway and shut and lock my door. Awesome, the awkwardness rose to a level 9, I was now alone with this person. So I put clothes back on turned on my TV and decided to ignore him. I was hoping he would get the hint and either get his friend or just leave. Nope!

Creepy Statement #5: “Why don’t you come over here and sit next to me and let’s talk. Please feel free to drink more beer.” I looked at him and said, “My boyfriend is coming over at 11 and I don’t think he would like it if someone was hitting on his girl.” In my mind, I was like yeah, that will shut him up. Nope!

He gets up goes to the fridge and gets the beer, of course bringing back one for me. I thanked him…Creepy Statement #6: “So our friends have been in your room for a long time, maybe if w get to know each other better we can be in another room.” The look of terror must have come across my face because he looked at me and said: “So no?” I ran back to my room banged on my door and was asking to talk to Andi. She opened the door and said that they will be out in a few and they’ll leave.

At this point, I had to call my friend again and beg him to get here sooner, he said he could get there by 10:30. I walked back into my living room and stated that #1 nothing was going to happen, #2 we are NOT dating, and #3 there’s no way in hell that we will ever date! After that statement, I walked into my family room looked at the clock and realized that my friend would be there in 30 minutes so I chilled alone…of course, I first stopped by the fridge and got me another beer.

Since we were in separate rooms, I ignored him and that last 30 minutes lasted a lifetime! Finally, the doorbell rang and I leaped out of my seat and ran to the door and let Sean in! He was a tall punk rocker with ear piercings, and blue and white hair so…a little scary looking but he was my savior at the time!  Sean walked in and asked the guy “who are you and why have you been harassing my girlfriend?”

He leaped upped and said, “I’m sorry, I thought she was playing hard to get.” I at this point I walked out of the room and walked to the room where Andi was and banged on the door. Andi opened and I told her she has to leave, Sean is here and he wants to be alone with me. (She didn’t know that Sean and I were just friends she believed he was my beau!) All of them got their stuff and left but they did leave behind the shitty white zin wine so I ended up regifting that bottle to some family members! Ha!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment